Deleting a shift

Learn different ways to delete a shift, including bulk-deletion

Christina avatar
Written by Christina
Updated over a week ago

This article was last updated 3/23/2022.

Only a user who is assigned the role of Admin or Manager has the ability to delete a shift in Sling. If you are an Employee and your schedule requires some adjustment, you will need to contact a manager or admin on your company's Sling account.

From the web

To delete a single shift, click on it to open the details, then click on the trashcan icon (upper right corner).

If you are trying to delete a shift that is not yet published, then it will look a bit different, and you can find the option to delete by using the option dots as illustrated below:

You can also use the checkboxes to select a shift or shifts, then use the trash can icon that will appear at the top left of the page.

If you are using the Premium or Business version of Sling, then you can also delete shifts in bulk.

Switch to the view of the range of shifts you want to delete, and then click the Select all box. This will select all shifts that are displayed. You can apply filters to remove any shifts from view that you want to keep.

Note that this will select unassigned and available shifts, as well. They will need to be deselected manually if you'd like to keep them.

Once shifts have been selected, the trashcan icon will appear and you can click this to delete all shifts in view.

This will not delete anything outside of the current view. You will need to repeat it for any day, week, or month you want to remove. Premium and Business accounts can also use the Custom range to view up to 16 weeks at once.


From the app

Go to your Shifts tab, and pull up the Full Schedule page if you need to delete an employee's shift.

Once you tap the shift you wish to delete, you'll see the Options dots in the upper right. Tap those to access the option to delete the shift.

Note that if the shift is part of a recurrence, Sling will ask you if you want to delete all future shifts in that recurrence set, or only the current shift you've selected. Choose whichever applies.

The employee will be notified that the shift has been cancelled.

Did this answer your question?